When it comes to Wi-Fi networks, sometimes it’s better to forget


It is easy, especially when traveling, to connect to a Wi-Fi network that does not provide internet access, requires credentials that you do not have, or does not have access to the printer on the network. Unfortunately, once your iPhone, iPad, or Mac connects to such a network, it can reconnect to it later, causing dismay when things don’t work out. The solution? Whenever you realize that a Wi-Fi network is worthless, forget it. (The network, that is.) On the Mac, open System Preferences> Network> Wi-Fi> Advanced> Wi-Fi, select the network from the list (you don’t need to be there connected), click the – and click Remove. On an iPhone or iPad, when you’re connected to the offending network, go to Settings> Wi-Fi, tap the i button to the right of the current network, and then tap Forget this network on the next screen.

(Featured image based on images from iStock.com/fizkes and Elena Pimukova)





Source link